CalMHSA is currently processing applications for peer workers referred by county mental health and/or substance use disorder programs (also referred to as Behavioral Health Plans).

Please allow 30 days for application processing.

California Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist

Certification Requirements

Senate Bill 803 (SB 803), authored by California State Senator Jim Beall, is the “Mental Health Services: Peer Support Specialist Certification Program Act of 2020.” It sets a standard of seventeen Core Competencies that every Peer Support Specialist is required to know to be certified as a practitioner. In California, this creates a new provider and service type eligible for Medi-Cal reimbursement through the county mental health and behavioral health plans. The Department of Health Care Services will create guidance of reimbursement requirements.
To seek Certification as Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist an individual must meet the following qualifications:

1. Be at least 18 years of age.
2. Possess a high school diploma or equivalent degree.
3. Be self-identified as having experience with the process of recovery from a mental illness or substance use disorder, either as a consumer of these services or as the parent, caregiver or family member of a consumer.
4. Be willing to share their experience.
5. Have a strong dedication to recovery.
6. Agree, in writing, to adhere to the Code of Ethics.
7. Successfully complete the training requirements for a peer support specialist.
8. Pass the certification examination.