Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Certification

All candidates are required to fill out an application to take the certification exam. Click the Login/Register button above!

California Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Certification

Certified Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialists provide recovery-oriented, culturally appropriate services that promote engagement, socialization, self-sufficiency, self-advocacy, natural supports and are trauma aware. Certification under this policy is designed for individuals who are 18 years of age or older, who self-identify as having lived experience with the process of recovery from mental illness, substance use disorder, or both, either as a consumer of these services or as the parent or family member of the consumer.

Senate Bill 803 (SB 803), authored by California State Senator Jim Beall sets a standard of seventeen Core Competencies that every Peer Support Specialist is required to know to be certified as a practitioner in California.

The certification is administered by the California Mental Health Services Authority (Certifying Entity) through established policies, procedures, and documents specific to the certification program. Peer Support Specialists certified through the certification program administered by CalMHSA will be recognized as Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialists by all counties who elect to participate in the Medi-Cal Peer Benefit under agreement with the Department of Health Care Services.

Certification Fees

Below are the various fees associated with the Medi-Cal Peer Support Specialist Certification process. The fee schedule is subject to change. Fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable. For a complete list of fees visit Fee Schedule in the Resource Library.

Certified Peer Support Specialist

Certification Fees
$ 250 Initial Certification
  • Certification Application $100
  • Certification Exam $150
  • Exam Retake $150